Documentary update

I haven’t been blogging much about my documentary, as most of production stage involved research and interviewing of players.

Talking to players particularly has been very interesting, they provided me with many useful insights that expound on topics past the scale of my documentary. Especially since I don’t play WoW, so some of the things they talked about like immersion and guild drama have been fascinating.

My main problem has been scaling down the research density, and making the site more accessible to the layman. My main aim of the documentary is to make WoW interesting to non-gamers, and to show them a side beyond their preconceptions of 3d polygonal characters simply getting online and hacking and slashing at monsters.

I’m trying to dissect the social nature of WoW that is so intricate to the playing motivation, as well as the game mechanics of WoW. And hopefully people will find that interesting, that WoW is such a human game. There’s a lot of theory in my documentary, so I will try to keep it to a minimum, with big labels and disclaimers, so that casual browsers will not be turned away.

Leave a comment